Archive for August 31st, 2010

August 31, 2010

Tuesday Huesday: Mellow Yellow Home Decor

I used to have a room painted yellow, back in the days when when I was young and carefree.  It’s very difficult to be in a yellow room and not have it brighten your mood!  Speaking of yellow rooms, I was very interested to learn that yellow is a hot home decor color right now – specifically, yellow mixed with neutrals. This makes sense because yellow mixed with electric blue might give you nightmares, or the feeling that you were being attacked by Big Bird and Cookie Monster.  Nobody wants that!

I came upon the first photo in Elle Decor and the second in Traditional Home – both are perfect examples of incorporating yellow into your living situation without having it be too overwhelming/overpowering.  I think the yellows bring brightness to a room quite nicely, and the same can be true for your next craft project.  Here’s the color palette I was inspired to create.

This palette was created using FolkArt Acrylic colors (from left to right): Buttercup, Taffy, Linen and Mushroom