Painting Tip: Dry Times

Happy Hump Day! I have a tip for you this fine Wednesday – a tip that I wish I would have known and paid attention to many times over.  I recently asked Plaid designers “What is the one single thing to remember when completing a painting project?”  Now, of course, there are so many things to remember, but one thing that came up several times was to be observant of dry times.

I’m going to tell you, I have a patience problem, especially when it comes to waiting for paint to dry.  I want to get a move-on with my project!  I’ve ruined surfaces before doing that, so I’m paying attention now. Here’s what the Plaid folks had to say:

  • Read the instructions on the package/bottle completely before executing a project
  • Pay close attention to dry times or any special drying instructions – for a typical FolkArt or Apple Barrel brand acrylic paint, you are going to wait approximately 15 minutes to dry (but it may need to be longer depending on the formula).
  • If the project feels tacky but paint didn’t come off on your finger when you touched it, it still isn’t dry.  Tackiness indicates moisture.
  • Waiting a little longer is better than not waiting long enough; when in doubt if a project is dry, allow it to sit for a few more minutes

Good advice from the design team!  Thank you, and I’m off to NOT ruin another project!

Leave a Reply

