Interview with the Craftaholic: Diana Gonzalez

Meet Diana Gonzalez, the strong creative force behind Confessions of a Craftaholic.  Why do we love Diana?  Well, she has a very cute kid, and that is definitely a plus.  We love Diana because she is a work-at-home mother, artist, writer  and a very interesting person.  Her art is influenced both by her spirituality and her Latina heritage, and she uses just about every medium and tool under the sky with beautiful results.  I recently asked Diana my favorite crafty questions, and here’s what she had to say.  Please don’t forget to visit her blog and new website.  I think you’ll be impressed with her talent, and you will DEFINITELY be inspired.

What made you want to be a crafter and designer?
I’ve always been creative, even as a child. What made me realize that I wanted to design things for a living was when my daughter was born. I realized I wanted to give her something to admire. Art is healing and creates evolution within you, and as I became more serious about my career, I began to realize this. And that is what gave me the desire to pursue my career as an artist even more.

What inspires you – how do you decide what to make?
Nesessity inspires me. Life inspires me. Nature inspires me. I love doing swaps a lot because they almost “force” me to create something. That gives me a deadline, and then I can find inspiration just by digging through my stash, re-organizing my art supplies (and then finding that one new stamp, that I’d been looking for, forever).
Art inspires me a lot also. I love Picasso, Frida Kahlo, Basquiat, and I love Dadaism. When I’m completely blocked on a swap project or just all out of ideas, I go to the Museum and that helps me.

What is your studio or workspace like, and how do you work in your studio?
My workspace is a small vintage sewing desk left behind by my neighbor when she moved. Above it, I have shelf with glitter, glue, paints, rubber stamps and buttons.
It’s usually messy, depending on how busy I am, and how much time I have to clean up after myself. I normally don’t bother. It’s cluttered, but at least I know where everything is. And I like my space. I think a workspace should inspire you. Set it up in a way that makes you want to work there. It should work for you. A messy workspace is the sign of a busy artist, I always say.

How would you describe and think of your style, what kind of crafts do you make and what type of materials do you prefer?
I typically call my style, “Vintage City Grunge”, because I use vintage elements and have a rough sort of style. I love the city, and a lot of stuff that add to my style is inspired by the majestic and expensive city that I live in.
I prefer to do paper art and jewelry and do mixed media shrine boxes, jewelry, book binding, and of course, cards and bookmarks.
I like rubber stamps a lot. I like to try to incorporate them in all the mediums I love. My mediums change as I change in life, and my preference in what to work with shifts around a lot.
I knit and crochet as well, and enjoy designing my own knitwear. I love recycled materials a lot. It’s so fun to just create things from used things.

My favorite crafting website is (and why):
I love craftster. I love it because I love swaps, and I love to browse at the amazing projects there. I get ideas for myself, for workshops, and i participate in a TON of swaps there, as well. I also love Swap-bot.com for craft swaps.
I also love flickr for inspiration.

What has been the most rewarding moment in your crafty career?
My rewarding moments are each time I teach workshops. I love to teach people to create beautiful things, and encourage people to just be creative with what they already have at home. Being creative shouldn’t be about buying a ton of things, although it is fun sometimes, to buy some new supplies sometimes.
What new directions do you hope to move in the future? Do you have big plans, new ideas or designs you will be exploring soon?
My hope is to take my craft group and my workshops to a new level. I would love to reach more people around the United States and the world, and open them up to my brand of crafting, and teach them to use what they have, to create beautiful things.
I’d love to publish a book as well, and I’m working on some new online workshops that I’ll be offering in the near future.
Looking back, knowing what you know now, is there anything that you would do differently (in your crafty career)?
Nothing. I have no regrets. Everything in life happens for a reason.

What is your biggest budget crafting tip?
Use what you have. That’s the best advice my husband gave me! He’s a classically trained artist, and he’s always telling me: Diana, don’t buy stickers. Don’t buy silly things, just make your own embellishments, cut your own shapes, make everything yourself! That’s the best advice. Use what you have, and don’t buy too many embellishments. I find that buying less embellishments not only saves you money, but forces you to make your own. Stick to basic things: rubber stamps, paper, ink and scissors. When you limit yourself to basic things, you’ll be suprised at what you end up creating!

Thank you Diana – it was a pleasure!

2 Comments to “Interview with the Craftaholic: Diana Gonzalez”

  1. Thanks for an exciting new blog & website! I love her style!

  2. What a fantastic and inspiring interview. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

