Get to Know Chris Williams

Meet Plaid's very own Chris Williams.

I’m sure by now you’ve become familiar with the regular contributors to Paint Me Plaid. Today, we’d like to get to know Chris Williams a little bit better. Chris is the Education Director here at Plaid and true to her role she is working on a series just for Paint Me Plaid to help us all learn about the different surfaces you can paint on and how to get the best results. Her first installment will appear tomorrow, so stay tuned! In the mean time, here is a quick Q&A with Chris.

PMP: Why do you paint?

Chris: Ever since my childhood, I have always found comfort and happiness when I was busy designing and creating.

PMP: Are there any specific colors or color palettes that you most like to work with when you paint?

Chris:  I enjoy so many different color palettes that it is hard for me to select just one.  I love painting fun, bright colors when I am designing for the spring and little girls rooms.  Colorful florals of summer always bring in pinks, blues and lavenders; I love painting hydrangeas from my garden.  In the fall, rich harvest oranges, golds and greens come to mind as a gorgeous palette.  And painting for the Christmas holidays always provides rich reds, deep greens combined with metallics of gold and silver.

PMP: What painting techniques to you most enjoy?

Chris:  I love to paint the slip slap technique when creating fun, unusual backgrounds, (I’ll share instructions for this technique in a later post so stay tuned in.) I also enjoy floating color to achieve highlights and shadows.

PMP: Aside from painting, what other crafts do you enjoy?

Chris: Decorative painting is my first love; however, I also enjoy stenciling, jewelry making, sewing, crochet, needlework of all kinds, card making, and faux finishing, just to name a few.

PMP: Where do you find your inspiration?

Chris:  I try to find my inspiration in everyday life.  Being observant of your surroundings always helps because you never know when one tiny “flash” of inspiration will come to life from seeing something that when combined with another something will spark an idea or color palette.  And when possible, jot down ideas or thoughts; try to keep a sketchbook or folder of ideas to use as reference.

Stay tuned to get to know more about Chris. In the mean time, take a look at some of the projects Chris is done for Paint Me Plaid. And don’t forget to come back tomorrow to get her intro to sanding wood surfaces.

The finished product! I Love Ewe Frame Wood Easter Basket with Eggs Easter Chick Placecard Holder Peace Box

4 Comments to “Get to Know Chris Williams”

  1. Thanks Amy for your support! Donna, so nice to see you on PMP. How fun!!

  2. I have know Chris from the moment she was born a few years ago! She is a beautiful painter and designer and the best daughter that I have!!
    Love, Mom

  3. So fun to see your face on Plaid, Chris Williams I’ll look forward to following your creativity! 🙂

  4. Hey! I know her! haha! Great article – and I can’t wait to see what Christopher comes up with. 😀

Leave a Reply

