Make It Monday: Feather Your Nest

Feather Your Nest by Chris WilliamsBy Chris Williams

Mixed media has become one of the hottest new trends or art forms recently.  Mixed media is basically creating art using various mediums and products.  In this project both acrylic paints and decoupage medium is combined with canvas, wood and scrapbook papers to create a fun piece of art to hang on your wall or set on a table easel for all to enjoy.  Keeping this project easy and simple, I used Apple Barrel paints and Satin Mod Podge.  Let’s gather the necessary supplies:  an oval canvas, a wood bird cutout, a sheet of scrapbook paper, a few Apple Barrel paints, Satin Mod Podge, a pair of scissors and a few brushes.

Here is the complete list of supplies:

Supplies for Feather Your Nest project.

Surface:

8” x 10” Fredrix oval stretched canvas

Wood bird cutout

Apple Barrel Colors:

20223  Pool Blue
20503  White
20589  Harvest Orange
20756  English Ivy Green
20773  English Navy

CS11272  Mod Podge Satin
Mod Podge Squeegee
12” x 12” Fern scrapbook paper – K & Company Wild Saffron No. 625297

Miscellaneous Supplies:  No. 1 liner brush, ¾” flat brush, pencil, brush basin or container for water, paper towels, foam plate, fine grit sandpaper, white craft glue/hot glue, 4 popsicle sticks, craft knife or scissors, waxed paper, assorted supplies for nest such as:  moss, jute, ribbon, feathers.

Trace oval on paper.

Begin by placing the oval canvas on the patterned paper where you want it.  Using a pencil, neatly trace around the canvas to mark the shape.

Cut the oval out.

Next, cut out the oval using either a craft knife and a cutting board, or a pair of scissors.

Paint the edge of your oval.

Next, I painted the edge of the canvas English Ivy Green and allowed it to dry. One coat did it for me!

Mod Podge the oval and the back of your paper.

Then I used a large flat brush to apply a healthy amount of Mod Podge to the top surface of the oval canvas.  HINT:  You may want to place a sheet of waxed paper on your work surface before “podging” to keep your surface clean.  I usually do!

Place paper over oval and add a coat of Mod Podge on top.

Next, flip your paper oval over and apply Mod Podge to the backside.  I know many crafters only apply Mod Podge to one surface, however, our lab chemist here at Plaid endorses the use of Mod Podge on both surfaces for better adhesion.

Once again, flip the paper over and position it to the “podged” canvas.  I used my Mod Podge squeegee to press and secure the paper in place.

Smooth out the paper from the inside out.

Squeegee from the center towards the edges to squeeze out excess Mod Podge.  Remove excess by wiping with a damp paper towel.

I allow my Mod Podge to sit for 15 – 20 minutes before applying a coat or two to the top.  This will seal and protect your paper to the canvas.

Paint your bird.

While the Mod Podge is drying, begin painting your bird wood cutout.  As you can see, I painted the back end of the bird Pool Blue and added White to my ¾” flat brush to paint the front half.  Allow the front end strokes to overlap.  Paint the beak Harvest Orange.

Sand and blend the colors on your bird.

Sand if necessary and repeat blending the colors once again.

Paint the belly.

I added a little Harvest Orange to one side of the same flat brush and painted a blush on his chest and belly.

Use a liner brush to paint the eye.

His eye is English Navy painted with my No. 1 liner brush.

Add white to the beak.

Add a touch of White to the top half of the beak.

Add detail to the bird's face.Our bird would not be complete without sparkle in his eye.  Paint White highlights at 1 and 7 o’clock using your No. 1 liner brush.  I also added a Harvest Orange blush for a check.

Paint the feathers.

Next, I painted feathers both on the tail and wing.  The first layer of feathers is English Navy. The next layer is painted Pool Blue.

Add white to the feathers.

And lastly, I added White feathers and allowed the paint to dry.

Use popsicle sticks to add dimension.

When assembling the project, I decided to create a little dimension and allow the bird to stand out from the canvas backing.  To achieve the dimension, I glued four popsicle sticks together using my Beacon Adhesives Premium Tacky Glue.  Allow to dry.

Add the words "Feather Your Nest".

I wanted my project to have a mixed media/scrapbook feel, so I added the words “Feather Your Nest” which I printed using my computer.  Cut to desired size.  I wanted to tone down the bright white of the paper, so I dry brushed over the words with English Ivy Green.  Allow to dry.

Then I Mod Podge’d them to a contrasting scrapbook paper.

Glue popsicle sticks to the back of the bird.

When the popsicle stick riser was dry, I applied more glue and attached it to the back of the bird cutout.

Mod Podge the bird for extra protection.

To seal and protect the painted surface, apply a coat or two of Mod Podge.

Use a hot glue gun to attach the bird to your canvas.

When dry, you are ready to attach the bird to the canvas.

Add Mod Podge to the back of your words.

Brush Mod Podge to the backside of your layered words and add to your canvas.

Add "nest" elements at the bird's belly.

Our birdie would not be complete without his nest.  I hot glued miscellaneous mosses, ribbon, feathers, and twine at the base of his belly.

Voila!

And Voila!  Here you have it . . . “Feather Your Nest!”

Leave a Reply

